Monthly Archives: June 2018

Kabega wins in Rwanda

Musa Kabega and Rogers Sirwomu (Mitsubishi EvoIX) have won the 2018 Huye rally in Rwanda.

This is KG Rally team’s second victory in two years.

Kabega who was dominant through the opening leg on Saturday however saw his lead gnawed away on day two by his compatriot Jonas Kansiime/Aaron Nsamba.

Despite the late charge, Kabega held on to win by 35 seconds.

Rwanda’s Giesen Jean-Jean/Dewalaque Yannick took third place.

Negomba Sadat/Zubeda Abdallah claimed sixth place in their Toyota RunX with another Ugandan Nagasha Graham/Raymond Munyigwa in seventh overall.

Balondemu Gilberto/Waiswa Ibrahim finished tenth overall.

Six Ugandan crews took part in the rally. Serwanga Jackson/Lawrence Mwambazi retired early on day one.

[gview file=””]


Posted by Patrick

It’s 110m for Pearl Rally

Vivo Energy Uganda, through its premium brand Shell V-Power, has unveiled a sponsorship package worth Ug.shs 110 million towards this year’s Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally.

The package was announced during the launch of the Shell VPower Club launch at Garden City on Saturday.

There is a ten-percent increase in the sponsorship from the previous editions.

The Pearl of Africa Rally is scheduled to run from 20-22nd July.

It will be the fifth round of the African Rally Championship series.

The rally will attract drivers from across the continent.

Shell V-Power also unveiled season sposnorship packages for its crews; Ronald Sebuguzi, Arthur Blick Jr, Omar Mayanja and Umar Kakyama.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-23 at 18.44.59


Posted by Patrick

MX riders react to tax exemption

Local riders have reacted to a recent government declaration to exempt taxes on racing bikes with several expressing their appreciation to the decision.

Arthur Blick, a ten-time motocross champion says the exemption will go a long way in improving the quality and skills of local riders.

“It is a decision that we have always asked for. We are thankful to the government and also our federation heads that pushed of this.

“Motocross is a fast-developing sport and it needed something like this to help us grow.

“Hopefully now we can have many more riders coming through,“ said Arthur.

Abdul Kateete of 444 Racing added his voice too.

“I have about four riders and we have to get the latest bikes every year. They are expensive. At least now we can get the latest bikes and not suffer with the high costs,” he said.

Previously, anybody importing a racing bike would have to pay several taxes that included; import duty, environment levy, withholding Tax and VAT.

All taxes have now been scrapped.

The exemption takes effect starting 1st July 2018.

Posted by Patrick

NRC 4 Update: Sebuguzi secures Fort portal win

Ronald Sebuguzi/Leon Ssenyange in a Mitsubishi EvoX managed to hold on to the final stage to secure a first Fort portal rally victory on the weekend.
The Shell sponsored crew  had earlier seen their seconds lead nipped into by Omar Mayanja/Hussein Mukuye (Mitsubishi EvoX).
Sebuguzi only held a 25 seconds lead going into the final loop of two stages.
That provided for a nail-biting contest.
However, a roll in the ultimate stage cost Mayanja time and put him out of contention. He would finish fifth overall.
PICTURE: O.Mayanja finally managed to complete the final stage
It’s Sebuguzi that was celebrating in the end as he ended two frustrating years in Fort portal.
Kepher Walubi/Anthony Mugambwa (Mitsubishi EvoX) finished second with Susan Muwonge/Edmond Kyeyune (Subaru Impreza N12B) taking third place.
Edwin Kalule (Toyota Celica) was dominant in the 2WD class.
The event was however blighted by some incidences. Notably, Yusuf Bukenya saw his car turn to ashes after it caught fire in Sunday’s opening stage.
He survived with minor injuries.
PICTURE: Yusuf Bukenya’s Mitsubishi Evo IX in flames.
Only seventeen crews of the 34 that registered completed the rally.
Drivers will now prepare for the Pearl of Africa Rally due 20-22 July.
UMC-Kayla Courts Rally
Podium Finishers overall
1.R.Ssebuguzi/L.Ssenyange 1.43.47
2.K.Walubi/A.Mugambwa 1.46.03
3.S.Muwonge/E.Kyeyune 1.46.35
*2WD* overall
1.Edwin Kalule 2.09.00
2.Charles Ssansa 2.15.53
3.Gilberto Balondemu  2.27.27
Championship Standings after NRC4
1.Jas Mangat 200pts
2.U.Bakunda 194pts
6.C.Fitidis—-140 pts
7.F.Wampamba 115Pts
8.Dr.Ashraf— 110pts
9.P.Lwakataka 95pts
10.D.Mubiru —75pts
2WD Class
1.Edwin kalule  75pts
2.Tim Gawaya  37pts
3.Charles Ssansa  31pts
4.Sadat Negomba 25pts
Posted by Patrick

NRC 4 Update: Sebuguzi takes lead in Fort Portal

Ronald Sebuguzi holds a two second lead after the first day of the UMC Kalya Courts Rally.
The Shell sponsored crew had a trouble free drive in their Mitsubishi EvoX; cruising through the 2.4km Boma Grounds Super special in 5 minutes.
Christakis Fitidis (Mitsubishi EvoX) was equally up to the task. A seamless second run was enough to see him climb to second place.
Rauf Adam was exciting as well. He is third after Saturday’s leg.
Duncan Mubiru in a Subaru Impreza N14 claimed a slim lead after the first run. His charge for the day’s lead was however undone by two punctures later in the second run. That pushed him down to thirteenth and 35 seconds behind the leader.
Musa Mulimira (Toyota Curren) leads the 2WD category. He is two seconds ahead of Samuel Watendwa (Toyota FX).
Dr. Nsereko is ahead in the CRC class.
The crews head into Sunday’s final leg that consists of four stages that will be repeated.
2018-06-02 17.41.57
Posted by Patrick

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin