Crews geared up for NRC4

May 31, 2018 Posted by Patrick In Featured,Motor Rally

The 2018 season hits the half way mark this weekend. And the fourth round of the National Rally Championship takes crews to Kabarole in the western part of Uganda.

The United Motorsports Club (UMC) organised event will be centered in Fort Portal town for the third successive year.

Over forty crews have registered to take part in the three-day event that will feature Super Special stage on Saturday.

That will be followed by four repeated stages; Bukuku (8.7km), Amaberee ganyina mwiru (14.41km), Rwenzori Tea (14.1km) and Mpanga (23.99km) on Sunday for a total competitive distance of 144km.

Last year’s winner Hassan Alwi will lead the park in the chase for this year’s Fort Portal rally win.

The Subaru Impreza N14 driver will need the fortunes that saw him take victory in 2017.

Championship leader Jas Mangat comes to Fort Portal off a disappointing drive in Masaka where his engine gave way early on day two.

The three-time national champion will be looking for a third rally win this season.

All eyes will be on Ponsiano Lwakataka. The Subaru N8 driver was phenomenal in April’s Masaka Rally. Many are keen to see him repeat the same feat in Western Uganda.

The rally also provides the possible return of Desh Kananura to the fray.

Other category battles will see Edwin Kalule seek to extend his lead in the 2WD championship.

The event starts with scrutineering on Friday.


  1. Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya                  200
  2. Unisan Bakunda/Umar Kakande        161
  3. Christakis Fitidis/Eric Nzamwita.       140
  4. Susan Muwonge/Edmond Kyeyune    110
  5. Kepher Walubi/Anthony Mugambwa 105
  6. Ponsiano Lwakataka/Sam Mugisha      95
  7. Dr.Ashraf Ahmed/Edward Kyeyune      90
  8. Duncan Mubiru/Musa Nsubuga             75
  9. Fred Wampamba/Paul Musaazi             65
  10. Hassan Alwi/Enoch Olinga                      50

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin