December 27, 2023 Posted by Jackson In Events,Rally News

In a thrilling display of skill and speed, Yasin Nasser, behind the wheel of a formidable Ford Fiesta R5, fearlessly claimed victory at the MPU Championship Sprint held today in Busiika. Teaming up with co-driver Joseph Kamya, Nasser showcased his prowess by clocking the fastest time of 3:27.90, leaving competitors in the dust.

Chasing closely behind were the dynamic duo of Manveer Birdi and Arfan Aladin, steering a Subaru Impreza GVB. Despite a commendable effort, they fell short by a mere 4 seconds, settling for second place.

The crowd was treated to an intense battle for the podium, with Duncan Mubiru Kikankane securing third place in his Subaru Impreza GVB, expertly navigated by Joseph Bongole. The margin between the second and third-placed crews was a mere 40 microseconds, emphasizing the razor-thin margins in this high-stakes competition.

John Consta, piloting the Ford Fiesta Proto alongside navigator Hakim Mawanda, secured a respectable fourth place, trailing the leader by just 4 seconds.

Shell-sponsored team Ronald Sebuguzi and Anthony Mugambwa, driving a Ford Fiesta Proto, rounded up the top five with a time of 3:33.50, a mere 5 seconds behind the frontrunner.

Omar Mayanja, returning from a brief hiatus with his Evo X and new navigator Shakira Nalugwa, claimed the sixth position with a time of 3:34.30, adding excitement to the competition.

A rising star emerged in Musa Segabwe, navigating a Mitsubishi Evo9 alongside Mathias Kiyegga, securing the seventh spot with a surprising time of 3:36.90. This duo promises excitement for motorsport enthusiasts in the upcoming 2024 season.

Susan Muwonge, a two-time national champion known as “Superlady,” made a strong comeback, securing the eighth position in a Subaru N12, co-driven by Fred Wampamba. Their time of 3:37.70, though 9 seconds off the leader’s pace, showcased Muwonge’s resilience and skill.

International flair was brought by the Tanzanian crew of Randeep Singh and Taji Bala, claiming the ninth spot with a time of 3:38.00.

The top ten was completed by Umar Dauda and Steven Bunya, navigating an aging Mitsubishi Evo6, posting a time of 3:40.69.

Noteworthy performances from Fred Busulwa, Peter Kalule, and Ponsiano Lwakataka, securing the 11th, 12th, and 13th positions respectively, added depth to an already competitive field. Motorsport enthusiasts can undoubtedly anticipate more exhilarating competitions in the seasons to come.

1.Yassin Nasser/Joseph kamya -Ford Fiesta R5 3:27.90
2.Manveer Birdi/Arfan Aladin -Subaru impreza Gvb 3:31.30
3.Duncan Mubiru /Joseph Bongole-Subaru impreza Gvb 3:31.70
4.John consta/Hakim Mawanda-Ford Fiesta Proto 3:32.30
5.Ronald Sebuguzi/Anthony Mugambwa- Ford Fiesta Proto 3:33.50
6.Omar mayanja/Shakira Nalugwa -Mitsubishi evox 3:34.30
7.Musa segabwe/Mathias kiyega-Mitsubishi Evo9 3:36.90
8.Susan muwonge/Fred Wampamba -Subaru impreza n12 3:37.70
9.Randeep singh/Taji Bela-Subaru impreza Gvb 3:38.08
10.Omar Dauda /Steven Bunya -Mitsubishi Evo6 3:40.69

By Mwambazi Lawrence

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin