Pearl of Africa Rally

Manvir wins Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally 2018

The Kenyan rally Crew of Manvir Baryan and Drew Sturrock has secured aback to back win of the Pearl of Africa rally after winning this year’s edition that ended today Saturday in Kayunga.


Provisional top 5

1.Manvir Baryan

2. Ronald Ssebuguzi

3.Jas Mangat

4. Hassan Alwi 43.04.3

5. Suzan Muwonge

Mangat takes second place

The crew in Skoda Fabia R5 posted a total time lost 2 hours,26.03 minutes ahead of second positioned crew of Jas Mangat and Joseph in Mitsubishi Evo10.

He beat second placed Ssebuguzi Ronald by four minutes while Jas Mangat finished third, International University of East Africa (IUEA) driver Hassan Alwi finished fourth while female driver Suzan Muwonge finished fifth.

Only 22 Crews complete

Twenty-two drivers out of the 47 crews finished the two day event that doubles as the fifth round of the national rally championship (NRC) and the Africa Rally Championship (ARC).

Kephar Walubi, Arthur Blick jr, Rauf Adam, Piero Canobbio dropped out of the event.




Posted by Patrick

Okee Appeals to Fans

Scrutineering at Shell Bugolobi

Tomorrow   : Spectators Stage Busiika

Saturday      : Competitive stages Kayunga:

Federation of Motorsport clubs of Uganda (FMU) president Dusman Okee has urged motorsport fans to stay disciplined during the competitive sections of the Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally on day two in Kayunga.

In a press briefing at Lugogo on July 18, Okee said,” We are in private farms. We do not want to be denied access the next time we go there so fans do not eat sugar canes and do not litter plastics and polyethene bags in the sugar plantation.”

He also urged the fans to stay off the roads because the competitors will be very fast.

Meanwhile scrutineering of cars will be held tomorrow Shell Bugolobi before heading to Busiika for the spectators’ stage on day one of the two-day rally that has 205.44Kms of competitive distance.

The is the fifth round of the national rally championship doubles as the fifth round of the Africa rally championship.

The scrutineering team led by Joshua Mayanja deputised by Moses Sseguya will put much emphasis fire extinguishers and fuel tanks to avoid incidents of fire that had cropped up on the Africa continent.

“We shall start at 10am scrutineering of cars and only those cars that meet standards will be allowed to participate in this event,” Sseguya stated.

“Our emphasis will be much on fire extinguishers and fuel tanks. We are checking fuel tanks to see that there is no room for any linkage on any tank to avoid possibilities of fire break out and also fire extinguisher gas are not expired,” he explained.

The scrutineering start at 10am with Jas Mangat, then Manvir Baryan and Christakis Fitidis then at 10.20am and then others follow at 10.20am.

Fifty cars will be scrutineered today and only those that pass the test will be given stickers that allow them to participate in this year’s edition.

Posted by Patrick

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin