Uganda drivers plot for Pearl Rally

July 25, 2019 Posted by Patrick In Blogs & Articles , ,

Two year’s without tasting victory in the Pearl of Africa Uganda rally, local drivers are targeting to break that jinx in this year’s edition due next month in Luwero and Kayunga district.

Vivo Energy under their Shell V-Power brand this year committed sh110m to this year’s edition of the rally.

“We want to thank Shell for their dedication to motorsport in the country and as drivers we are plotting to dominate the podium at the end of the rally by taking 1, 2, 3 positions,” Blick Jr stated on behalf of the local crews.

Arthur Blick receives the sh65m sponsorship from Shell V-Power. PHOTO BY Kinthan Images

Arthur Blick receives the sh65m sponsorship from Shell V-Power. PHOTO BY Kinthan Images

Blick, Ronald Ssebuguzi, Omar Mayanja and Umar Kakyama are the local drivers supported by Shell V-power.

Hassan Alwi is the last Ugandan driver to win the Pearl rally which in 2016 that was in Mubende district while Ponsiano Lwakataka and Jas Mangat won it in 2011 and 2013 respectively.

According to Clerk of the Course Katende Mukiibi, the three-day will start with a super special Stage in Busiika on Friday August 2 and then head to Kayunga for final day.

“The roads are in good shape and after the super special stage we shall head to Kayunga on day two where drivers will battle it out in eight sections,” Katende said.

On Saturday the drivers will start with Kitwe section 19.9km, head to Shiekha Metha (22.35km), before battling it out in Lwasa stage (24.8km) and then Adel Stage (29.13km).

The four stages will then be repeated in the afternoon and the rally is expected to end at 6pm.

Vivo energy MD Gilbert Assi assured Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) continued support, but urged the organisers and fans to observe safety.

“We are committed to supporting the Pearl of Africa rally, but must ensure that safety standards are not compromised,” Assi said.

FMU President Dusman Okee promised a well organised event and urged the Uganda drivers to win it.

Past Winners

The event is the fourth round of the National Rally Championship (NRC) won by Ronald Ssebuguzi last year and also the fifth round on the Africa Rally championship (ARC) calendar that was won by Manvir Baryan from Kenya

The Event is slated for August 2-3 in Luwero & Kayunga.

Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally


Credits : Kinthan Media

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin